Moderators Editing Post Introductions, Titles, Tags, Categories, etc

Responding to [Product] [Screencast] Elliot Reads Critical Fallibilism Forum, 2023-03-08 - #4 by MetaCreation

Thanks for the feedback.

The post I edited is the first post in Deplatforming and Censorship Examples

I have no strong opinion about whether I should include a note in the post body and/or reply at the end of the topic with a note or just rely on Discourse’s automated edit history tracking feature. But here’s some context:

• The edited writing wasn’t about ideas. It wasn’t essay writing. It wasn’t trying to express some opinion or conclusion.
  • I know Justin well and doubt he’d mind in this case
  • I’m a better writer than Justin (plus he wasn’t really trying) and am unlikely to cause trouble by rewriting it badly
  • The topic was heavily reused (66 posts, 1500 views)
  • The topic was intended to help with community building and be a service to the community; it wasn’t a personal post (and it was actually directly continuing a topic started by me at a prior forum, and I certainly wouldn’t want to make my own duplicate topic to compete with it).

The things I’m most likely to edit are:

1. Topic tags
  2. Topic category
  3. Moving some posts to a different topic
  4. Topic title
  5. First post introducing a topic

I think you’ll see the point of tagging and will agree that the automatic edit history is adequate. I have edited tags before without saying anything.

There are two main reasons to edit topic titles.

1. a title is problematic in some way, e.g. clickbait, offensive or vague/misleading
  2. people post a bunch of stuff and the title no longer matches what’s in the topic

Trust level 3 users can edit post titles and categories btw. That’s a default that I don’t think I’ve changed.