Academic Literature for Multi-Factor Decision Making

Abstract: After writing my article Multi-Factor Decision Making Math, I found and reviewed relevant academic literature about Multi-Criterion Decision Making (MCDM). I found no criticisms of my beliefs in the literature. I found that the MCDM and epistemology literatures mutually ignore each other, to their detriment. And I determined that CF’s decision making method is a new approach that MCDM researchers are unaware of. I will summarize my review and also discuss Geographic Information Studies and normalization.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://criticalfallibilism.com/academic-literature-for-multi-factor-decision-making/

Purpose: Comment on an aspect of the article I have some experience applying.

I use GIS in one of my businesses. I hadn’t looked for any literature on it and wasn’t aware any existed. But after reading the article I think the suitability modeling page refers to a similar or same problem as I use GIS for. As a practical matter this problem presented itself to me as one of figuring out how to use a government web site (County GIS) to figure out what I wanted to know, which is things like: Is it feasible to build at all on this property? If so, what types and sizes of houses would be feasible and where, generally, would you put them? I’m not making placement decisions down to where you would actually start digging/building - those are done by people on site. I’m just doing preliminary internet research.

The where should you build a house problem is definitely multi-factor in nature. For simplicity I’ll talk about only two of the factors: slope and flood plain. But there are others.